flower


February 12, 2003 | 9:06 a.m.
<- Songs from my childhood ->

I nearly forgot the thought journal for the day, I KNOW you were all sad about that.

Tell the words of a song from your childhood, what memories does it bring?

Well, for me, Primary songs seem the most prevelant memory. My Mom was the music leader for literally my whole growing up life, so those songs were always being sung in our home, and posters being made. There are 2 that come to mind right away:

"Whenever I hear the song of a bird, or look at the blue blue sky, whenever I feel the rain on my face or the wind as it rushes by. Whenever I touch a velvet rose and walk by a lilac tree, I'm glad that I live in this beautiful world, Heavenly Father created for me. He gave me my eyes that I might see, the color of butterfly wings, He gave me my ears that I might hear the magical sound of things. He gave me my life, my mind, my heart. I thank him revrently, for all the creations of which I'm a part. Yes I know Heavenly Father loves me."

My Mom made this poster for that, and I can still see the pictures in my mind to this day. The melody of that song, and the image of my Mom singing it, always brings me a bit of comfort.

The other song that I love, is about as standard as it gets in our church:

"I am a Child of God, and he has sent me here. Has given me an earthly home with parents kind and dear. Lead me guide me, walk beside me, help me find the way. Teach me all that I must do, to live with him someday."

It just feels like I've known that song as long as I could speak or sing.

Have a nice day!

Ally

Change, she is a comin! - November 24, 2006
Little bit of nothin - September 14, 2006
That DID happen! - August 10, 2006
Dinner with famous friends - August 05, 2006
Morningstar - August 04, 2006

What Was | What Will Be

Site Meter

The current mood of als_pals at www.imood.com