flower


December 16, 2003 | 12:32 p.m.
<- And.....it was a success ->

Yesterday was quite possibly the LONGEST, most bone wearying day of my life. I seriously have not been THAT tired, and that sore since I was a missionary trekin the neighborhoods of Indiana. I'm glad I survived, but I'm still FREAkING tired right now!

So, Sunday night, our party was a smash success. ALL our friends showed up, it was definitely a houseful, but oh so fun. The food was plentiful, and thankfully we have good friends who like to eat, so there weren't too many leftovers. However, it was another Sunday(Monday morning) with me going to bed at 2 a.m. after cleaning up everything. I got up at 5 a.m. after a whopping 3 hours of sleep. I had SO much to do for the concert last night. I actually got to school by about 7:10 a.m. and went straight to work. I made an adorably cute program for each of the concerts, which took my forever, and a lot of tweeking and fixing. But, the final product was worth it. I had to coordinate schedules with a few of the teachers, blah, blah, blah. So, needless to day, I was on my feet all day working out last minute details with the kids, practicing them, etc. After school I was busy typing up seating orders of the kids to give to each of the teachres, and a list of instructions on how and where to bring them all on or off stage. I rushed to sisters house to freshen up my weary looking face and hair, and then RUSHED to the kindergarten concert. It started at 5:30, I ran in around 5:20, oops! They were adorable, their parents loved it, and the whole thing took all of 20 minutes. HEE HEE. Oh well, they're all so cute in their pretty little dresses, and hair all curled or combed just so. Gotta love it. Well, then I had an hr. 1/2 to kill, but I wasn't about to drive anywhere, icky road construction. So, just hung out. Finally, it was time for the big concert to start. We had a very nice turnout, and I'm happy to say, that probably 90% of the students were there, HOORAY! So, without going into a million details: the auditorium looked beautiful, the kids sang fabulously, the parents loved it, and overall it was a HUGE success. I got many compliments, the big district bosses were practically crying they were so happy. So, I should feel really good, and proud of myself right? Yet, somehow I don't. I still feel like a big ol' imposter that could not have done anything by herself. UGH! The concert ended around 8:30, after waiting for all to leave, and then helping to clean up, it was nearly 9:30 before Sis, and 4th grade teacher and I headed to Applebees for a bite. I had not eaten one thing all day, so, on top of being dead tired, I was starving. We had a lameass waitress, and my food was cold, but still, it was food. I finally dragged myself home around 10:30. I was never happier to be home, and to sit on my fat chair. When I came in and set everything down, I just hugged Jer for a long time. I hadn't spoken to him in nearly 20 hours. WHEW, what a long day. I'm so looking forward to two weeks of doing nothing.

Today, I woke up a little late, and my eyes are totally bloodshot. This lack of sleep and constant on the go is REALLY getting to me! I got to school and my 5th graders were already in the classroom waiting for me. OOPS! I swear, it's the first time they were EVER on time or early. We're just watching the video of the concert today. I love that I don't have to do anything, no brain cells in use here. The kids are loving seeing themselves, it's cute.

Tuesday is my day with a big break, so I treated myself to a nice little pedicure. Because frankly folks, my tootsies were looking FOUL! And, I deserved to be a little pampered. I trotted on down to my favorite Vietnamese friend, Sun, and he hooked me up. I went with a rather festive red for the holiday season. I feel good about my feet again. Well, the salon is right next to Joycees moms house, so I skipped on over to say hola to my new mexico friend. She was looking splendid in her pj and morning glory. I told her I only had 2 minutes to say hi, as I was on my way back to school. It was good to see her, since the last time was nearly a year ago on my birthday, and she had not yet MET her husband to be. We've planned a nice little bra shopping excursion on Thursday morning, so we can have some quality time together. HEE HEE. Which reminds me, I've got to cancel my students for that morning. I don't want to teach anyone, I just want to cancel all my lessons, oh please let me cancel all my lessons.

Well, another class of kindergartners are on their way, better wrap it up!

Later

Change, she is a comin! - November 24, 2006
Little bit of nothin - September 14, 2006
That DID happen! - August 10, 2006
Dinner with famous friends - August 05, 2006
Morningstar - August 04, 2006

What Was | What Will Be

Site Meter

The current mood of als_pals at www.imood.com