flower


December 21, 2002 | 11:04 a.m.
<- Colds & surveys ->

Well, I've randomly acquired a filthy chest cold. It came out of the blue really, just BOOM there it is. I've got this itchy/scratchy throat thing, head and chest FULL of junk, eyes that won't stop oozing. OY! My life is a never ending enjoyment fest. I s'pose it's now time to take my husbands prompting to call the doctor serious. If not for the cold, then for the 40 other potentially serious maladies that bother me.

Last night we had a family Christmas Caroling party. You see, for as long as my wee mind can remember, we've had this party with my dad's whole family. My Dad comes from hardy stock, with 8 bros. and sisters, most of them living here in AZ. So, we gather at someones house (usually it was ours) eat lots of nachos, doughnuts and hot chocolate and then meander around the neighborhood for awhile inflicting Carols on unsuspecting neighbors. I generally dread the caroling part (I just hate bothering people) but LOVE the part where we all just hang out and talk and catch up with eachother for hours. So anyway, this year it didn't look like we were gonna have one, until one cousin just impromptu threw it together. It was certainly a smaller turnout than usual, but at least there were people there and we got to have some fun. My bro. and I had to leave for part of it, as I was narrating and he was singing in a Cantata written by one of his friends called "He Is Jesus Christ" about the birth,life and death of Christ. It's really quite a moving piece, and I'm always glad when I participate in it. Anyway, after our brief forray into that, we headed back to the party and enjoyed some more quality time. I of course ate WAY too much. That one extra doughnut at the end, it just really did me in.

Upon arriving home, I prepped for bed and waited for Jer to come home from work. He got home, we opened our present from my sister (which in case anyone wonders, was very nice, certificates for a movie, dinner and dessert). Then, we went and watched "I Love the 80's" on VH1. Did anyone else watch this? It was brilliance!! I laughed my afforementioned large keister off! And perhaps it meant so much to me because I was a complete child o' the 80's. My most formative growing years were between 80 and 90. So, I was remembering all the gadgets, gizmos and people. Honestly, what were we thinking in liking the TV show Alf? Anyway, it was just lovely to recap, and in case anyone is interested, they'll be doing a marathon of the show on New Years Day. Don't worry, I missed 4 years of the show 80,81,84,85, so I'll be watching. Whilst watching the show, our swing dance crazed friend came to bring us a Christmas present. It was sooooo nice of her, and I'm feeling a TAD guilty that I don't have a present for her. Then again, I don't usually give presents to all my friends, it would just get too costly. I know, I'm a stingemeister, I do not apologize for this. Anyway, she gave us a foot massager, because my foot has been hurting lately and Jer won't massage it. How sweet is that?!

Ok, must insert here, WHAT IS UP WITH FLO and ZACH winning the Amazing Race? I was bitter to say the least!!!! She's the whiniest bitch I've ever seen in my life! However, I was glad that they won over Terri and Ian, who I truly could not stand. Mostly, I was bitter and sad that my boys Ken and Gerard didn't win. I'm telling you, that is the gREATEST reality game there ever was!!!!! I'm already going through withdrawalls!!

Well, it's Saturday mid-morning and I haven't accomplished anything yet. My goal is to make a shload of sugar cookies and frost them today, so I can in turn deliver them to some friends who requested them (apparently I have a gift for sugar cookies; personally, I just have a great recipe).

But, in parting, I'm leaving this survey that I stole from Dot, who stole it from Kate.

Love to all,

Ally

1. Full Name: Ally, I need some privacy here.

2. Were you named after anyone? I believe my mom really liked June Allyson the actress, so that's where it came from.

3. Do you wish on stars? Uh no, not really.

4. Which finger is your favorite? Are we for real here? Does someone actually have favorite fingers? Ok, I s'pose I"ll go with the ring finger on my left hand that has a pretty diamond.

5. When did you last cry? Ummm, I think I had a breakdown on my husband just a few nights ago. I can't remember what for now, so guess it wasn't that important. Oh, and last night during the cantata, I got a bit emotional.

6. Do you like your handwriting? I have ugly boy handwriting. I've never liked it.

7. What is your favorite lunch meat? Turkey or really nice deli ham.

8. Any bad habits? Eating too much.

9. What is your most embarrassing CD on the shelf? I don't really have many cd's of my own. Maybe the "Sax and Romance" CD that I got in a white elephant exchange.

10. If you were another person, would you be friends with you? Yes, I think I would. I can be fun, though I can also be a bit negative at times. I'd have to take me sparingly.

11. Are you a daredevil? Not at all!!

13. Do looks matter? Not entirely.

14. Have you ever misused a word and it sounded absolutely stupid? I don't think so, I'm quite fond of words, the bigger the better, and I generally know their meanings.

15. Do you think there is a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow? That would be a negatory good buddy.

16. Do fish have feelings? I'm sure they do, all God's creatures have feelings.

17. Are you trendy? That would be another negatory. I have some cute stuff, but when you're in the chub club, it's harder to be super trendy.

18. How do you release anger? Depends, sometimes by crying, sometimes by singing, sometimes by watching TV. I don't, there is no method to my madness.

19. Where is your second home? Bambi & Buttons house

20. Do you trust others easily? It totally depends. Sometimes I'm instantly untrusting of someone, and others I trust, and I trust too easily; end up getting hurt.

21. What was your favorite toy as a child? I think it was my Strawberry Shortcake dolls. My sisters and I had the whole collection, and don't even think for a second that we don't still have them, 'cause we do!!

22.What class in school do you think is totally useless which you sleep in? Well, in highschool, and college I think math is useless, for my major anyway. I just will NEVER need to know algebra or geometry to sing a good show tune. I also found Music history boring as hell and theory beyond level one, TOTALLY USELESS to me!!

23. Do you like sappy love songs? Yes, but don't ask me to name any, I'm radio illiterate.

24. Have you ever been on radio or television? I don't think so, but my brother has.

25. Do you have a journal? Yes.

26. Do you use sarcasm a lot? A little too much at times. Some people just don't know how to take it. WIMPS!

27. Have you ever been in a mosh pit? Thankfully no, nor shall I ever be!

28. What do you look for in a guy/girl? Sense of humor, kind, giving, religious, musical in some form.

29. What are your nicknames? Al, Ally, Allybobba, Allysunshine, Als, Sunshine, salson.

30. Would you bungee jump? Not in this lifetime, thank you ever so much.

31. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off? I mostly avoid shoes with ties of any kind. But, if I do wear them, I don't untie.

32. What are you worried about right now? Making some cookies, and not being sick, and graduating for real.

33. Do you ever wear overalls? NO! Those were NOT meant for members of the chub club to wear! Bad, very bad.

34. Do you think that you are strong? Yes. I'm pretty hefty and can pick things up and move them, etc. And emotionally, somedays I'm stronger than others.

35. What's your favorite ice cream flavor? Well, right now it's Dreyer's Gingerbread Man. But, mostly I like Parline Pecan.

36. What's your favorite color? Purple and green.

37. What is your least favorite thing in the world? Ummm, not feeling good, confrontation, and being fat.

38. How many wisdom teeth do you have? Only my top two, because they apparently didn't pose a problem.

39. Are you in love w/ anyone? But of course!

40. How many people have a crush on YOU right now? Well, since I'm in the married pool, I'm gonna assume none, other than my sweet husband.

This is quite possibly the worlds longest entry! Eeegads!!

Change, she is a comin! - November 24, 2006
Little bit of nothin - September 14, 2006
That DID happen! - August 10, 2006
Dinner with famous friends - August 05, 2006
Morningstar - August 04, 2006

What Was | What Will Be

Site Meter

The current mood of als_pals at www.imood.com